Essential Truths about Creativity

A few days ago I read this fantastic guest post over at Whipup.net and decided I needed to share.

“Colleen Babcock is a cloth art doll designer living in London with her husband. Originally from Canada, Colleen sells patterns, teaches online and in-person and exhibits in the UK and across North America. With work featured in several books and magazines, Colleen also writes guest posts for popular craft blogs, like WhipUp, while keeping the creativity levels high on her own blog, The Magic Bean.

The Four Essential Truths of My Creative Self or What Life and Health Have Taught Me About Creativity

When Kathreen asked me to write about my creative process I wanted to run. Not because I wasn’t flattered to be invited and not because I wasn’t pleased to do it, but because my best ideas come when I’m not thinking about it, when I’m doing something else, like running. My best creative moments come on the treadmill, in the bathtub, or in the kitchen. Which would probably account for why my ideas book is always damp – it’s constantly getting covered in sweat, bath water and sauce. Let’s just say, it’s not a pretty sight. It’s knowing that I have a tendency to over-think things that has led me to recognise my first essential truth about my creative self.

Essential Creative Truth No. 1: I come up with my best ideas when I don’t really think about it. It turns out my subconscious is far more creative than my conscious mind. Word to the wise: if you want to use this method of inspiring yourself by doing something else, make sure you keep a piece of paper or a notebook nearby. You never know when inspiration will strike.

Just as you never know when inspiration may strike you never know when disaster might strike. Being creative means taking risks. Trying new things, new mediums, new techniques, means that it is easy for mistakes to happen. If you let them, mistakes can become disasters, but they don’t have to be. And that brings me round to …”

Feel free to read the rest of Colleen’s Truths here.

Leave a Reply

